General Holidays in Hong Kong 2017

Hong Kong holidays

If you are planning to visit Hong Kong in 2017, check the list of general holidays below.

Date Weekday Holiday name Holiday type
January 1 Sunday New Year’s Day National holiday
January 2 Monday New Year’s Day observed National holiday
January 28 Saturday Chinese Lunar New Year’s Day National holiday
January 30 Monday Second day of Chinese Lunar New Year National holiday
January 31 Tuesday Third day of Chinese Lunar New Year National holiday
March 20 Monday March equinox Season
April 4 Tuesday Ching Ming Festival National holiday
April 14 Friday Good Friday National holiday
April 15 Saturday Holy Saturday National holiday
April16 Sunday Easter Sunday Observance
April 17 Monday Easter Monday National holiday
May 1 Monday Labour Day National holiday
May 3 Wednesday Buddha’s Birthday National holiday
May 30 Tuesday Dragon Boat Festival National holiday
June 21 Wednesday June Solstice Season
July 1 Saturday HK Special Administrative Region Establishment Day National holiday
September 22 Friday September equinox Season
October 1 Sunday National Day of People’s Republic of China National holiday
October 2 Monday National Day of People’s Republic of China observed National holiday
October 5 Thursday Day after Mid-Autumn Festival National holiday
October 28 Saturday Chung Yeung Festival National holiday
December 21 Thursday December Solstice Season
December 25 Monday Christmas Day National holiday
December 26 Tuesday Boxing Day National holiday

As both the first day of January and National Day in 2017 fall on a Sunday, the day following them is designated as a general holiday in substitution. In addition, since the second day of Lunar New Year in 2017 falls on a Sunday, the fourth day of Lunar New Year is designated as a general holiday in substitution.

Lưu